Bannack Motion blur and freeze

Bannack blur-Canon PowerShot A710 IS-2/22/2011-3:48pm-f/7.1-shutter 1/4 sec

For this picture I set my camera up on a tripod and just took a photo of myself walking from one room to another. I set the shutter speed pretty low but fast enough that I could catch the full effect of the blur. I like that I caught my leg in good focus while the rest is blurry. I then took it nto camera raw to bring out some color. I darkend the picture and added some contrast.

Jump- Canon PowerShot A710 IS- 2/22/2011-5:30pm- The way back from the saw mill at Bannack- f/5.6-shutter 1/500 sec

In this photo a whole group of us still needed to take the action freeze shot. So we had this girl jump and just the the shutter speed really fast to catch the motion. I edited this in camera raw but also cropped it in photoshop. For this one it was sunset and I really wanted the colors from that. They weren’t showing up in the original so I added some yellow tint to it and it gave the picture a nice effect.

Shnick Ghost- Canon PowerShot A710 IS- 2/22/11-

3:14pm- Bannack Hotel- Shutter 6 sec- f/3.5

This was taken in the creepy little closet in the motel at bannack.  After I took the shot I wanted to create a creepy vibe with the ghost. I made the colors more vibrant in camera raw. Then through gross use of adjustment layers I lightened and darkened various parts.  I wanted the viewer to be aware that it was very dark in that little closet but get a vague feeling of the presence of a ghost. I don’t know if that objective was achieved, so please comment and let me know. I took a lot of artistic license here and I am afraid that the brush strokes are too obvious.

One thought on “Bannack Motion blur and freeze

  1. Wow, I think you did an awesome jump with your freeze motion shot! Not only did your “model” pose very well but everything is sharp and clear except for a little bit of blur at her feet where the snow has been kicked up, but I think it’s perfect because it gives just that hint of motion to the shot. You also made it look great by cropping it in just right. I like that you added a warm glow to the photo. It gives it kind of an etherial feeling and adds the right warmth to the picture. The blurred motion shots are neat too and I like how the bottom one makes it look like he’s in kind of an oven or a creepy little place. Great job.

Leave a comment