Final Poster

1. “Giving in” 24×36 Poster Print Framed
2.2/28/11 7:50pm- Hart foyer Rexburg Idaho
3.KONICA MINOLTA MAXXUM 5D, Shutter 1/13 sec, f/4
4. Camera Raw Edits: Viberance, Saturation, Color tint, Contrast. In Photoshop itself: Selection tool, Adjustment layers, Filter (black and white), layer masks.

5. So monday night my wife and I decieded to go out and take some pictures. She wanted to have a picture of us if we were going to spend all that money to frame it and make t look nice. I borrowed my cousins old camera and we took off. I took many picture, but nothing was looking that good. Then my wife suggested that we do “hand holding pictures” like in engagement photos. I admit I thought it was kind of dumb, but we did it anyway. The camera we had didn’t have a digital display for taking pictures, but you could see the picture when you were done. I wasn’t used to having to look throught the hole to take pictures. I discovered when I did the picture did come out exact. So, instead of looking through the hole I would just snap a bunch of shots until it came up right on the display, this resulted in many candid shots. The composistion on many of them were not good, but some of them looked great. After we had taken many pictures and we were about to leave I looked at the pictures we had already taken and had the idea for this final product. We already had pictures of me by the wall and us holding hands but none of rebeckah by the wall. So I had to go set up the tripod the way I thought we had before. I got some pictures of her and we ran home where i started the edits.

To edit this I started with the picture of rebeckah (on the left). I went into the picture of me and used the quick selection tool to select from my body all the way to the the edge of the picture. After some masking to make it look just right I flattened the layers of me and rebeckah and made it the background. I then took this picture into camera raw and increased the viberance, contrast and tint of the colors to make it burst a little more. Then I went back into photoshop and did an overlay with the hand holding picture and decreased the opacity to 83%. Rebeckah then had the idea to do a black and white filter over the top, which we decided looked good. Then I masked out our clothes on the black and white filter. Because there was the background image and the overlay it gave the coler even more depth and saturation. Some things I did on purpose but some things just happened to work out.

Leave a comment